Honyenuga, Kulendi, Mensah-Bonsu And Amadu Get Parliamentary Nod For Supreme Court Bench

 Honyenuga, Kulendi, Mensah-Bonsu And Amadu Get Parliamentary Nod For Supreme Court Bench

Parliament has unanimously approved the appointment of Mr Justice Clemence Honyenuga, a Court of Appeal judge and three others to the Supreme Court bench.

The three others are Mr Justice Issifu Imoro Tanko Amadu, also a judge of the Court of Appeal, Professor Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, a law lecturer at the Faculty of Law of the University of Ghana, Legon and President of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences and Mr Emmanuel Yonny Kulendi, a private legal practitioner.

The recommendation for approval was contained in a report the chairman of the Appointments Committee of Parliament, Mr Joseph Osei-Owusu, presented to the House Wednesday morning [May 20, 2020], reports Graphic Online’s Nana Konadu Agyeman from Parliament.

It had been anticipated that there was going to be a rancorous debate of the committee’s report following Mr Honyenuga’s failure to secure a unanimous approval from the Appointments Committee of Parliament last week when he appeared before it for vetting.

The committee voted on a 10-7 approval.

A member of the committee, Mr Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, told Graphic Online last week that since Justice Honyenuga had approval based on majority decision, the report on his nomination was going to be sent to the plenary of Parliament for a full debate and for a vote to be taken.

“If Justice Honyenuga had won by consensus like his colleague Amadu, it means the report to the plenary will just follow the motion and it will be a simple voice vote and not a rancorous debate for a ‘yes’ and ‘no’ vote,” the National Democratic Congress (NDC) MP for North Tongu told Graphic Online last week after the vetting.

“The Minority was not convinced he was forthright and sincere. He breached several provisions in rules 1, 2, 5 and particularly 6 (s) of the Code of Conduct for judges and magistrates which frowns on judges endorsing a political office holder,” he added.

The other three nominees, Issifu Omoro Tanko Amadu, Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu and Yonny Kulendi, however, had unanimous approval.

-Daily Graphic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.