October 22, 2021
Featured Politics


The leadership of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) have selected the Independent Candidate for Fomena Constituency, Lawyer Andrews Amoako Asiamah as the Second Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

This comes after the Member of Parliament for Bekwai Joseph Osei Owusu was selected as the First Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament by the leadership of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

Meanwhile, the immediate past Member of Parliament for the Nadowli Kaleo constituency, Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin has been sworn in as Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic of Ghana.

He was sworn into office by the Chief Justice on Thursday, January 7.

The tight Speaker of Parliament race saw Mr. Bagbin winning the election by two votes against former Speaker, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye.

The outcome of that election remains a major shock to the New Patriotic Party (NPP) which had wanted to consolidate its grip on power by securing majority representation in Parliament and getting their proposed Speaker of Parliament nominee, Prof. Oquaye maintained.

In his acceptance speech, Alban Bagbin pledged to discharge his duties wholeheartedly and in service to all Ghanaians.

“I humbly accept the high placed office of the Speaker of the 8th parliament for the 4th Republic of Ghana. I thank the almighty God for his abundant grace on me and my family. I thank all of you for bestowing this honour and great responsibility on me.

Let me not forget Ghanaians, Electoral Commission, all political parties CSOs, media and more importantly my party the great National Democratic Congress (NDC) for proposing me to be elected to be the speaker of the 8th parliament for the 4th Republic of Ghana. I will submit myself to the will of this house. I will serve faithfully to the best of my ability,” he said in his acceptance speech.

Related Posts