October 16, 2021

Nana Addo Nominates Three New Judges To Supreme Court

President Akufo-Addo has made three appointments to the Supreme Court subject to the approval of Parliament.
The three; Justice Mariama Owusu, Justice Lovelace Johnson and Justice Gertrude Tokornoo, have been elevated to the apex court bench from the Court of Appeal.
The Speaker of Parliament announced the nominees in Parliament today.
They have been appointed to replace three justices who are on retirement or are due for retirement by the end of the year namely, Justice Vida Akoto-Bamfo, Justice Sophia Adinyira and Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo.
Sophia Akuffo, the current Chief Justice, will retire on December 20, 2019.
Per Article 144 (2), the President consults with the Council of State by submitting the names and curricula vitae of the nominees for appointment to the Supreme Court.
Also in accordance with Article 144 (2), the President has to seek the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court

Related Posts