The Member of Parliament for Asawase, Muntaka Mubarak has rubbished claims that Alban Bagbin was made Speaker of the House after a consensus.

According to him, although some ballots were spoilt after his colleague Carlos Ahenkorah grabbed them during the process, the votes for Prof Mike Oquaye had already been counted and a spoilt ballot had been identified.

Speaking on JoyNews, he indicated that since every member of the House voted, the maths shows that subtracting Prof Oquaye’s 136 and the one spoilt ballot from the total 275 leaves 138 votes, which goes for Mr Bagbin.

“When Carlos Ahenkorah picked the sheets, we were struggling to get them. He tore some and put it in his mouth. Unfortunately, when we brought them and we put them together we noticed that some of the papers were not there.”

“That is why we insisted that fortunately once we have finished counting one which was 136 and there was one spoilt, it meant that rest is 138,” he said.

Mr Mubarak added that about five people sorted out the ballots after voting adding they were careful every single ballot was placed where it should be.

His comment follows claims made by the Suame MP Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu who also double as the leader of the NPP caucus in Parliament and the NPP deputy chief whip Habib Iddrisu that both parties had come to a consensus to choose Alban Bagbin as the next Speaker.

According to the NPP deputy chief whip both competitors garnered 136 votes each with one rejected ballot and two uncountable ballots.

In view of that, the leadership of both NPP and NDC had to reach an agreement to make Mr Bagbin, who was nominated by the NDC as Speaker, he said.

However, Mr Mubarak stated “that was an absolute lie” adding that the NDC had even insisted the Clerk who was chairman announce the results.

“When the Chair was announcing the winner you heard him say elected so that is his (Kyei Mensah) own imagination.”

The Asawase MP claimed that the NPP after the chaotic Speaker election in the House had even suggested they wanted to withdraw the nomination of Prof Mike Oquaye.

“We said the vote had been counted we know the results, it is the results that we are going to declare, we are not going to re-run. We are not going to take these sheets that Carlos took because they had been tampered with.”

“But the simple arithmetic was that 275 of us voted we have this part which is one 136 we have this ballot which is spoilt, we all know when you take that out what is left is 138.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here